The inauspicious beginning…

The inauspicious beginning...

Peter Lawson Camper
by H.B. Davidson. The Religious Tract Society, London. nd.

This was, properly speaking, the first of my collection. Picked up at a huge charity sale in 2008.

Picked up, snickered over, and put down, in fact. Until I found two more within half a table: The Bobsey Twins Camping out, and, the clincher, Nancy Afloat.

Peter’s not hilarious on his own, but I’ve got quite a few like this. I found the frontispiece quite arresting.

lawson2comp

Of course, I’ve never seen a biplane ‘hurtle to the ground’ as the caption puts it, but then, I strongly suspect neither had the illustrator, who, sadly, is unnamed.

 

About tartanpartan

It won't surprise you to learn that I'm quite keen on books, and spend as much of my spare time as possible picking over second hand book stalls and charity book sales with my surprisingly delicate claws.