Wonders will never…

scn080

The Wonder of all the Gay World: A novel of the life and loves of Robert Burns.
by James Barke. London: Collins, 1949.

You see how educational this hobby is? I had literally no idea.

My copy (fourth impression, 1956) lacks its dust jacket, and is a very boring red cloth cover, hence the quite boring title-page scan.

If you’re interested: not a biography, but an immense, stodgy-looking novel, brim-full o’ dialect. About as gay as Vladimir Putin’s hair-line. To give you an idea: it has a list of characters (in order of appearance) that, just on its own, goes on for over five pages.

About tartanpartan

It won't surprise you to learn that I'm quite keen on books, and spend as much of my spare time as possible picking over second hand book stalls and charity book sales with my surprisingly delicate claws.