Better than the Irish?

Roaring comp

The Luck of Roaring Camp.
by Bret Harte. London: The Reader’s Library (n.d.)

I admit, it’s not hilarious. It’s just not quite there. But I collected it anyhow because–it’s such an odd title. If the camp is a place, how can it have luck? But, as it was written in the middle of the Nineteenth Century, I don’t imagine that the camp could be a person.

Inadvertently weird.

On the other hand, there are stories here titled ‘The Outcasts of Poker Flat’,’Melons’ and ‘On a Vulgar Little Boy’ among others, so the volume certainly has its points of interest.

About tartanpartan

It won't surprise you to learn that I'm quite keen on books, and spend as much of my spare time as possible picking over second hand book stalls and charity book sales with my surprisingly delicate claws.