Is that a squib in your pocket…?

 

pocketcomp

Pocket Thunder and other stories.

Harold Avery

Nelson, London, n.d. (c.1960)

Although it seems to have been published in about 1960* – the Sunday school prize plate is from 1964 – this is one of those school stories whose author seems to be stuck permanently in an ideal 1930s when all the chaps were wizard.

A sample of the deathless prose that caught my eye:

“Look here my boy, I’m very glad I don’t belong to your crush. I should feel jolly well ashamed of myself if I did. You know we shall lick you in the house footer matches, so I suppose you’ll come along some evening and bomb Mortimer’s”

“If you don’t shut your mouth I’ll ram my books down your throat,” declared Tamber….

That told him, eh?

 

*Update: As I am now also the proud owner of A Boy All Over by Harold Avery, which was published in the 30s at the latest, perhaps this is just a re-issue from the 60s of a much earlier book.

About tartanpartan

It won't surprise you to learn that I'm quite keen on books, and spend as much of my spare time as possible picking over second hand book stalls and charity book sales with my surprisingly delicate claws.