Of Bunnies and Improvement

Bunnycomp

“I used to come by the same train as Temple. We sometimes walked together down the lane.”

Bunny’s Boys

by Nora C Usher

London: Pickering & Inglis (c.1930s)

“Dedicated to the Many Boys who have passed like “ships in the Night” also to those who are still within hail.”

It’s nothing really, just a certain something I can’t quite put my finger on. The title, the dedication, the picture with its two chaps smiling with forced pleasure on one of their walks together down the lane.

What does it all mean?

(Actually, being a Pickering & Inglis ‘Sunshine series’ book, it means  Moral Lessons and Improving Examples for the Young, all done in Toe-Curling Prose. But we can dream.)

About tartanpartan

It won't surprise you to learn that I'm quite keen on books, and spend as much of my spare time as possible picking over second hand book stalls and charity book sales with my surprisingly delicate claws.