Just come out and say it

strangercomp

Stranger with a Tent.

By Margaret Warde,

London: Kingfisher Books, 1958.

Why this book? Well, it seems to want to live on the shelf with all my other camp literature, but it’s too shy to just come right out and say so.

So I’ve taken pity on it.

(Kingfisher books: more jolly evangelical stuff for England’s smiling Young Elizabethans in the 50s. What did the poor things do to need all this Improvement? Is this why the Boomers turned out as they did? Though, come to think, earlier generations had no shortage of it…)

About tartanpartan

It won't surprise you to learn that I'm quite keen on books, and spend as much of my spare time as possible picking over second hand book stalls and charity book sales with my surprisingly delicate claws.