For our Australian readers

date18022017

The Date Boy of Baghdad, by the Reverend Cocker. London, HR Allenson Ltd, circa 1925.

The subtitle is ‘Thirty-five story-talks to young people’, and the Rev J Cocker was keen on primitive Methodism and prohibition. So, clearly, he needed other hobbies.

And, you see, the Rev was from New Zealand, so I’m just not sure whether ‘date’ means the same there as it does in Australia. But either way, it probably didn’t in 1925, so I absolve him of devious intent.

What does ‘date’ mean you ask? Well if you can’t guess by now … I suggest you get off your own and look it up.

About tartanpartan

It won't surprise you to learn that I'm quite keen on books, and spend as much of my spare time as possible picking over second hand book stalls and charity book sales with my surprisingly delicate claws.