There’s a Ladybird book for everything

CCI05062017

Tasseltip and the Boozle.

By Sarah Cotton. Illustrated by Earnest Aris & Roy Smith.

Ladybird Books, London, 1975.

I mean … really? Is this someone’s joke, or did no one put even a second’s thought into this?

I very often feel a pang of sympathy for the children who had to read Improving Literature. But although this book is intended to be jolly and not at all Improving, I still feel sorry for the little blighters who got to read it. It’s ghastly. Badly written, unimaginative, and the illustrations are slapdash to the point of being almost disturbing in places.

On the other hand: you might like to check out the other titles in the series.

CCI05062017_0001

About tartanpartan

It won't surprise you to learn that I'm quite keen on books, and spend as much of my spare time as possible picking over second hand book stalls and charity book sales with my surprisingly delicate claws.